Mission Statement

The Board of Parole (Board) works to make informed parole decisions which are evidence-based. The goal is successful re-entry of offenders into the community. 

The Iowa Board of Parole is established by Iowa Code Chapter 904A and consists of five members, including a chairperson. All five members are full-time salaried members of the Board. The Governor appoints Board members. The Iowa Senate confirms the Board appointments. Staggered terms run for four years.